To have or not to have

Back at the office after getting back the puppy, Maken continues to rattle about that friend returning the puppy. He said he had no intention to take back any puppies from that ‘marriage’ but because that friend keep on pestering his wife that he took the only male puppy for her. And then after a week or so having the puppy, this.

Maken then turned his attention on me, saying I am single and alone and so on and it would be nice to have a pet for company. Rena joined in and say it is a good idea and I wonder why she didn’t take a pet for herself.

I told Maken, I will think about it. At this juncture, my mind was blank about this issue, no devils or angels fighting for my attention in my mind. As the days goes by, Maken was asking whether I had bought a cage, drinking bowl and most important is to fence up my gate yet. I just smiled and put it aside.

At the same time, I told this to another friend, Calvert. He said he would like to have the puppy if I didn’t want it. But I asked him where is he going to keep this puppy as he is living in a condo and despite having a husky (in name) but the actual taking care of this husky falls to his parent at their home. Calvert came back with a very bright idea, he say to keep the puppy at my house and he will come daily to feed and clean up. Fat hopes I thought.

As the days goes into month, Maken asked one morning if I have decided. I’m still sceptical about having a pet. I asked what if I want to travel? I was doing a fair bit of travelling at that time. And Maken says he will take care of the puppy when I travel.

By this time, the puppy was named Junior.

2 thoughts on “To have or not to have

Leave a Reply

